The Parish Council

The Parish Council

Cuckfield Parish Council is a small local authority with ten councillors elected for four years.

The Elections

The last elections were held in May 2019 but by-elections may be held to fill vacancies occuring between elections.

Council Tax

Each year the Council raises a ‘precept’ on council tax payers to cover the cost of running expenses.

The Parish Council has more formal powers to do things than are often imagined.

Community Centre

Owns and manages the community centre at both the Queen’s Hall and Cuckfield Village Hall.

Community Spaces

Owns and manages the Burial Ground and allotment gardens.


The Parish Council is also responsible for skatepark at Whitemans Green.

Village Maintenance

Provides and maintains the village clock and many benches, bus shelters and litter bins, as well as a number of the street lights down the footpaths.

Extra Maintenance

Provides extra maintenance around the village including the hanging basket displays.

Roads Maintenance

Liaises with West Sussex County Council regarding traffic problems. At present the Parish Council is working with the County Council on a variety of plans to improve road safety in the village.

Planning Applications

Comments on all planning applications in the parish - Mid Sussex District Council then makes the final decision, taking into account our views.

Urban Planning

Has a made Neighbourhood Plan which is referred to when consulting on all planning applications, and is used to provide a comprehensive plan for the future of Cuckfield over the next twenty years.

Public Toilets

The Parish Council is also responsible for the public toilets in the Broad Street Car Park.

Parish Councillors 2019 -2023

Andy Burton (Chairman, Chairman of HR Committee)

Paul Ceccherini (Councillor)

Marie Dormer (Councillor)

Richard Gill (Councillor)

Andrea King (Chairman of Community Buildings Committee)

Steve Oversby-Powell (Chairman of Planning Committee)

Adrian Podmore (Councillor)

Martin Sheldon (Vice Chairman, Chairman of Finance & General Purposes Committee)

Andrew Symonds (Chairman of Assets, Community & Environment Committee)

Jill White (Chairman of Roads & Traffic Committee)

District and County Council

Malcolm Avery (District Councillor - Mid Sussex County Council)

Jim Knight (District Councillor - Mid Sussex District Council)

Peter Bradbury (County Councillor West Sussex)